Mary Tom Speer

Mary Tom (Speer) Reid was the original alto of The Speer Family. When she married in 1954, and became a minister’s wife, she left the group to support her husband’s ministry and raise her family of three children. After the untimely death of her husband, she returned to Nashville and became the secretary for Ben Speer Music where she still works on a full time basis. Mary Tom has rejoined her brothers and sister and is back singing with the First Family of Gospel Music. She can still hold her own with the best of vocalists. Students of the Stamps-Baxter School of Music, of which she is a staff member and dorm mother, have come to love and adore her. Bill Gaither has said that he gets numerous comments about Mary Tom’s smile and pleasantness on the Homecoming Videos. That smile and pleasantness is not put on for the cameras, but is the way Mary Tom is in real life.

via Mary Tom Speer.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Rene Fobar  On July 18, 2010 at 5:36 am

    Dear Mary Tom Speer Reid,
    my name is Rene and I met you for the very first time a few years back when I was working as a cashier for Publix in Brentwood, TN. It was such an honor that we as I have watched you many times on the homecomings with Bill Gaither. I was so excited that I asked you for your autograph, which you happily gave me.

    I have since had to move to Michigan near my family as my health has not been very good. I was channel searching and got an old homecoming of the Wildwood Church singing. I am afraid that I don’t get to see much of the southern singing here in Michigan and I miss it so very much. It has always helped me worship and praise God in a way that I can’t explain.

    I hope things are well with you and hope to hear from you soon.

    God Bless,
    Rene’

Leave a Reply

